In 1995, a young clarinetist named Kazem Abdullah became the first recipient of the Norman E. Johns Chair Award. This merit based award was established in partnership with the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra’s Multicultural Awareness Council (MAC) and in recognition of Mr. Johns’ over 40 years of service as the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra’s Assistant Principal cellist.  

After auditioning for a jury panel, this year’s winners include Daniel Dorsey, Maxwell Fairman, Eva Pierce, and Sycamore High School Band’s very own Adrian Oliver.  In addition to this prestigious award, recipients will be acknowledged at a special post-concert reception featuring Gregory Porter on Sunday, November 19th.   

Adrian is the principal bassoonist in the Sycamore Winds and plays in the drumline with the high school marching band.  Additionally, Adrian has received numerous awards including District Honor Bands, University Honor Bands, and Superior Rating in Ohio Music Education Association’s Solo and Ensemble Adjudicated Events most difficult classifications.